Contact Us

The Richmond Academy of Medicine building

C. Kenneth and Dianne Wright
Center for Clinical and Translational Research
VCU Office of Research and Innovation
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond Academy of Medicine
1200 East Clay Street
P.O. Box 980261
Richmond, Virginia 23298-0261
Phone: (804) 827-1531

View map for location and driving directions.

Key contacts

Center and Core leadership

F. Gerard Moeller, M.D.
Director, CCTR
Email: frederick.moeller@vcuhealth.org

Elizabeth Fortune, M.B.A., CRA
Administrative director
Phone: (804) 827-1936
Email: efortune@vcu.edu

Krzysztof “Krys” Cios, Ph.D., D.Sc., MBA
Director, Enterprise Informatics
Director, Biomedical Informatics Core
Phone: (804) 828-9671
Email: kcios@vcu.edu

Jonathan P. DeShazo, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Associate director, Enterprise Informatics
Co-director, Biomedical Informatics Core
Phone: (804) 828-5509
Email: jpdeshazo@vcu.edu

Antonio Abbate, M.D., Ph.D.
Medical director, Clinical Research Services
Phone: (804) 828-0513
Email: antonio.abbate@vcuhealth.org

Alex Krist, M.D., M.P.H.
Co-director, Community Engagement Core
Phone: (804) 628-3972
Email: alex.krist@vcuhealth.org

Arun Sanyal, M.D.
Director, Education Core
Phone: (804) 828-4060
Email: arun.sanyal@vcuhealth.org

Patrick Nana-Sinkam, MD, FCCP
Education Core
Email: Patrick.Nana-Sinkam@vcuhealth.org

Paul Mazmanian, Ph.D.
Director, Evaluation Core
Phone: (804) 828-0492
Email: pemazman@vcu.edu

Paul Fawcett, Ph.D.
Director, Research Resources
Phone: (804) 828-0678
Email: pfawcett@vcu.edu

CCTR administration staff

Elizabeth Fortune, M.B.A., CRA
Administrative director
Phone: (804) 827-1936
Email: efortune@vcu.edu

Art Carpenter
Senior financial analyst
Phone: (804) 828-8237
Email: ajcarpenter@vcu.edu

Jennifer Economy, M.S.H.A.
Scientific Review Committee
Phone: (804) 827-0472
Email: jennifer.economy@vcuhealth.org

Mary Fowler-Simmons
Grant/Fiscal Manager
Phone: (804) 628-2961
Email: mfsimmons@vcu.edu

Enterprise Informatics

Krzysztof “Krys” Cios, Ph.D., D.Sc., MBA
Director, Enterprise Informatics
Director, Biomedical Informatics Core
Phone: (804) 828-9671
Email: kcios@vcu.edu

Jason Buck
Executive assistant to Director of enterprise informatics
Phone: (804) 628-0634
Email: jbuck@vcu.edu

Jonathan P. DeShazo, Ph.D., M.P.H.
Associate director, Enterprise Informatics
Co-director, Biomedical Informatics Core Phone: (804) 828-5509
Email: jpdeshazo@vcu.edu


Bioinformatics

Aaron Wolen
Bioinformatic specialist
Phone: (804) 628-3380
Email: wolenar@vcu.edu

Amy L. Olex, M.S.
Bioinformatics specialist
Phone: (804) 828-1621
Email: alolex@vcu.edu

Tamas Gal, Ph.D.
Director of Cancer Informatics
Massey Cancer Center
Email: tsgal@vcu.edu


Clinical Research Informatics

Tim Aro
Manager, Information Systems
Phone: (804) 628-4795
Email: timaro@vcu.edu

Brian Bush, M.S.M.I.T.
Data manager
Phone: (804) 827-2172
Email: brian.bush@vcuhealth.org

Michael Tran
IT specialist
Phone: (804) 628-4794
Email: tranpl@vcu.edu

Jun He
Research informatics application analyst
Email: jhe4@vcu.edu

Patrick Shi
IT Specialist
Phone: (804) 628-4794
Email: shipy@vcu.edu

Travis Oakes
Research informatics data analyst
Email: toakes@vcu.edu

Michael "Lucky" Tran
IT specialist
Email: tranml3@mymail.vcu.edu


OnCore/Clinical Research Management Systems

Robert Moulden
CTMS (OnCore) manager
Phone: (804)628-1991
Email: rbmoulden@vcu.edu

Mary O’Connell
OnCore CTMS trainer/educator
Phone: (804) 828-0228
Email: oconnellm@vcu.edu

Linda Walker
OnCore Analyst
Phone: (804) 628-1810
Email: lmwalker2@vcu.edu

Jacqueline Hoyt
OnCore Analyst
Phone: (804) 628-2126
Email: hoytj@vcu.edu

Clinical Research Services (CRS) staff

Lydia Klinger
Director of business operations
Clinical Research Services
Phone: (804) 628-0245
Email: lydia.klinger@vcuhealth.org

Antonio Abbate, M.D., Ph.D.
Medical director, Clinical Research Services
Phone: (804) 828-0513
Email: antonio.abbate@vcuhealth.org

Joelle Lemmons, R.N., CCRP
Interim nurse manager
Phone: (804) 628-4756
Email: joelle.lemmons@vcuhealth.org

Terre Williams
Regulation specialist
Phone: (804) 628-1868
Email: tywillia@vcu.edu

Shirley Helm, M.S., CCRP
Manager of clinical trial administration
Phone: (804) 628-2942
Email: shirley.helm@vcuhealth.org

Sara Twombly
Clinical research services program manager
Phone: (804) 628-3221
Email: stwombly@vcu.edu

John Thrift
Billing compliance manager
Phone: (804) 628-4769
Email: thriftjd@vcu.edu

Christopher James
Budget and Cost Coverage Analysis Specialist
Phone: (804) 628-5989
Email: cjames5@vcu.edu

Alanda Perry Jones
Clinicaltrials.gov program administrator
Phone: (804) 628-9395
Email: perryar@vcu.edu


Research operations support group staff, CRS office coordinators

Kimberly Bradley, EMT, CCRP
Manager coordinator pool, Clinical Research Services
Phone: (804) 518-8843
Email: kbbradley@vcu.edu

Esperanza Gilbert, CRC
Phone: (804) 385-5516
Email: egilbert@vcu.edu

Mary Madu, CCRC
Phone: (804) 263-4068
Email: memadu@vcu.edu

Meagan Miller, CCRC
Phone: (804) 628-2338
Email: mrmiller2@vcu.edu


Nursing staff, CRS

Yvonne Reyes, R.N.,M.S., CCRP
Nurse clinician, Clinical Research Services
Phone: (804) 828-4815
Email: yvonne.reyes@vcuhealth.org

Robin Barber, R.N., B.S.N., CCRP
Phone: (804) 828-9101
Email: robin.barber@vcuhealth.org

Glenda Bruce, R.N, B.S.N., CCRP
Phone: (804) 828-9101
Email: glenda.bruce@vcuhealth.org

Ethel Doggett, R.N., A.A.S.
Phone: (804) 828-9101
Email: ethel.doggett@vcuhealth.org

Rachel Munsey, R.N., B.S.N., CMSRN
Phone: (804) 828-9229
Email: rachel.munsey@vcuhealth.org

Ann Wade
Phone: (804) 828-9229
Email: ann.wade@vcuhealth.org

Jacob Williamson
Email: williamsojd2@vcu.edu

Kelly McGill Jones
Phone: (804) 828-9101
Email: kelly.mcgill@vcuhealth.org

Tassy Thomas, LPN
Phone: (804) 828-9101
Email: tassy.thomas@vcuhealth.org


Laboratory staff, CRS


Bio nutrition, CRS

Sakita Sistrun, R.D., M.S.
Bio nutrition manager, Clinical Research Services
Phone: (804) 828-9226
Email: sakita.sistrun@vcuhealth.org

Collaborative Advanced Research Imaging (CARI) staff

Joel L. Steinberg, MD
Director, Collaborative Advanced Research Imaging
Phone: (804) 828-4148
Email: joel.steinberg@vcuhealth.org

Robert E. Cadrain, R.T.(MR), CNMT
MRI Manager
Phone: (804) 828-3639
Email: recadrain@vcu.edu

Jacob Butler
MRI technologist
Email: jabutler@vcu.edu

General Inquiries
Email: cctr-cari@vcu.edu

Community Engagement Core (CEC) staff

Alex Krist, M.D., M.P.H.
Co-director, Community Engagement Core
Phone: (804) 628-3972
Email: ahkrist@vcu.edu

Alicia K. Aroche, M.Ed.
Research Associate, Community Engagement Core
Phone: (804) 628-3545
Email: alicia.aroche@vcuhealth.org

Education Core staff

Arun Sanyal, M.D.
Director, Education Core
Phone: (804) 828-4060
Email: arun.sanyal@vcuhealth.org

Patrick Nana-Sinkam, MD, FCCP
Education Core
Email: Patrick.Nana-Sinkam@vcuhealth.org

Teraya Donaldson, Ph.D.
Assistant director of education programs
Phone: (804) 828-6671
Email: tmdonaldson@vcu.edu

T'Keyah Johnson
Education coordinator
Phone: (804) 628-5414
Email: johnsontc3@vcu.edu

Evaluation Core staff

Paul Mazmanian, Ph.D.
Director, Evaluation Core
Phone: (804) 828-0492
Email: pemazman@vcu.edu

Deborah DiazGranados, Ph.D.
Program evaluator
Phone: (804) 827-0142
Email: diazgranados@vcu.edu

Mid-Atlantic Twin Registry (MATR) staff

Judy Silberg, Ph.D.
Scientific director
Phone: (804) 828-8153
Email: jsilberg@vcu.edu

Research Innovator (RI) staff

Adam Sima, Ph.D.
Biostatistician
Phone: (804) 827-1525
Email: simaa@vcu.edu

Jacob (Jake) Wegelin, Ph.D.
Biostatistician
Email: jwegelin@vcu.edu

Robert Perera
Biostatistician
Email: robert.perera@vcuhealth.org

David Wheeler
Biostatistician
Email: dcwheeler@vcu.edu

Pamela Dillon, Pharm.D.
Research liaison
Phone: (804) 827-1519
Email: pmdillon@vcu.edu

Bonnie Quearry
Grant writer
Phone: (804) 827-1527
Email: bjquearry@vcu.edu

Research Resources Core staff

Paul Fawcett, Ph.D.
Director, Research Resources Core
Phone: (804) 827-0975
Email: pfawcett@vcu.edu

Scientific Review Committee (SRC)

David X. Cifu, M.D.
Chairman, Scientific Review Committee
Email: david.cifu@vcuhealth.org

Antonio Abbate, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Chair, Scientific Review Committee
Email: antonio.abbate@vcuhealth.org

Jennifer Economy, M.S.H.A.
Administrative program manager
Phone: (804) 827-0472 (work)
Phone: (804) 514-6360 (cell)
Email: jennifer.economy@vcuhealth.org