Skip to Content

Contact Us

The Richmond Academy of Medicine building

C. Kenneth and Dianne Wright
Center for Clinical and Translational Research
VCU Office of Research and Innovation
Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond Academy of Medicine
1200 East Clay Street
P.O. Box 980261
Richmond, Virginia 23298-0261
Phone: (804) 827-1531

View map for location and driving directions.

Key contacts

Center and Core leadership

F. Gerard Moeller, M.D.
Director, Wright Center
Email: frederick.moeller@vcuhealth.org

Elizabeth Fortune, M.B.A., CRA
Administrative Director
Phone: (804) 827-1936
Email: efortune@vcu.edu

Antonio Abbate, M.D., Ph.D.
Medical Director, Clinical Research Services
Phone: (804) 828-0513
Email: antonio.abbate@vcuhealth.org

Alex Krist, M.D., M.P.H.
Co-director, Community Engagement Core
Phone: (804) 628-3972
Email: alex.krist@vcuhealth.org

Arun Sanyal, M.D.
Director, Education Core
Phone: (804) 828-4060
Email: arun.sanyal@vcuhealth.org

Patrick Nana-Sinkam, MD, FCCP
Associate Director, Education Core
Email: Patrick.Nana-Sinkam@vcuhealth.org

Alpha “Berry” Fowler, MD
Associate Director, Community & Collaboration
Phone: (804) 828-9071
Email: alpha.folwer@vcuhealth.org

Tamas S. Gal
Director, Data Warehousing and Advanced Analytics
Director, Research Informatics
Phone: (804) 628-2123
Email: tsgal@vcu.edu

Mary Harmon, PhD
Director of Clinical Research, VCUHS
Director, Research Informatics
Phone: (804) 628-7819
Email: mary.harmon@vcuhealth.org

CCTR administration staff

Elizabeth Fortune, M.B.A., CRA
Administrative Director
Phone: (804) 827-1936
Email: efortune@vcu.edu

Lindsey Paisley
Executive Assistant to the Director/AVP
Phone: (804) 628-7788
Email: lmpaisley@vcu.edu

Porshia Massey
Executive Assistant
Phone: (804) 628-0634
Email: masseypy@vcu.edu

Art Carpenter
Service Center Manager
Phone: (804) 828-8237
Email: ajcarpenter@vcu.edu

VACANT
Communications and Outreach Specialist
Phone: (804) 828-4352
Email:

Mary Fowler-Simmons
Grant/Fiscal Manager
Phone: (804) 628-2961
Email: mfsimmons@vcu.edu

Rena Edwards
Fiscal Technician
Phone: (804) 828-4155
Email: rmccutchened@vcu.edu

VACANT
Program Support Specialist
Phone: (804) 828-3793
Email:

Enterprise Informatics

Tamas S. Gal
Director, Data Warehousing and Advanced Analytics
Director, Research Informatics
Phone: (804) 628-2123
Email: tsgal@vcu.edu

Porshia Massey
Executive Assistant
Phone: (804) 628-0634
Email: masseypy@vcu.edu


Bioinformatics

Amy L. Olex, M.S.
Bioinformatics Specialist
Phone: (804) 828-1621
Email: alolex@vcu.edu

Bill Cramer, MBA, MS, PMP
Business Analyst/Process Engineer
Phone: (804) 628-4776
Email: wccramer@vcu.edu


Clinical Research Informatics

Tim Aro
Manager, Information Systems
Phone: (804) 628-4795
Email: timaro@vcu.edu

Brian Bush, M.S.M.I.T.
Data Manager
Phone: (804) 827-2172
Email: brian.bush@vcuhealth.org

Michael Tran
Lead Software Developer
Phone: (804) 628-4794
Email: tranpl@vcu.edu

Patrick Shi
Research Informatics Applications Analyst
Phone: (804) 628-4793
Email: shipy@vcu.edu

Travis Oakes
Research Informatics Data Analyst
Phone: (804) 628-1920
Email: toakes@vcu.edu

Evan French
Research Informatics Systems Analyst
Email: etfrench@vcu.edu

Jim Vencl
Research Informatics Analyst
Phone: (804) 628-5050
Email: jfvencl@vcu.edu


OnCore/Clinical Research Management Systems

Robert Moulden
CTMS (OnCore) Manager
Phone: (804) 628-1991
Email: rbmoulden@vcu.edu

Mary O’Connell
OnCore CTMS Trainer/Educator
Phone: (804) 828-0228
Email: oconnellm@vcu.edu

Linda Walker
OnCore Analyst
Phone: (804) 628-1810
Email: lmwalker2@vcu.edu

Clinical Research Services (CRS) staff

Antonio Abbate, M.D., Ph.D.
Medical Director, Clinical Research Services
Phone: (804) 828-0513
Email: antonio.abbate@vcuhealth.org

Terre Williams
Regulation Specialist
Phone: (804) 628-1868
Email: tywillia@vcu.edu

Shirley Helm, M.S., CCRP
Manager of Clinical Trial Administration
Phone: (804) 628-2942
Email: shirley.helm@vcuhealth.org

Alanda Perry Jones
Clinicaltrials.gov Program Administrator
Phone: (804) 628-9395
Email: perryar@vcu.edu


Research operations support group staff, CRS office coordinators

Esperanza Gilbert, CRC
Phone: (804) 385-5516
Email: egilbert@vcu.edu

Mary Madu, CCRC
Phone: (804) 263-4068
Email: memadu@vcu.edu

Meagan Miller, CCRC
Phone: (804) 628-2338
Email: mrmiller2@vcu.edu


Nursing staff, CRS

Melissa H. Hunt, MSHA, BSN, NEA-BC
Nursing Director
Email: melissa.hunt@vcuhealth.org

Joan M. Greer, MSN, RN-BC
Nurse Manager, Clinical Research Services Unit
Email: joan.greer@vcuhealth.org

Robin Barber, R.N., B.S.N., CCRP
Email: robin.barber@vcuhealth.org

Glenda Bruce, R.N, B.S.N., CCRP
Email: glenda.bruce@vcuhealth.org

Ethel Doggett, R.N., A.A.S.
Email: ethel.doggett@vcuhealth.org

Laurie Angus Haynes, RN
Email: laurie.angushaynes@vcuhealth.org

Kelly McGill Jones, Care Partner
Email: kelly.mcgill@vcuhealth.org

Earnestine Johnson, Patient Access Representative
Phone: (804) 828-9101
Email: Earnestine.johnson@vcuhealth.org


Bio nutrition, CRS

Sakita Sistrun, R.D., M.S.
Bio nutrition manager, Clinical Research Services
Phone: (804) 828-9226
Email: sakita.sistrun@vcuhealth.org

Collaborative Advanced Research Imaging (CARI) staff

Joel L. Steinberg, MD
Director, Collaborative Advanced Research Imaging
Phone: (804) 828-4148
Email: joel.steinberg@vcuhealth.org

Elizabeth Fortune, M.B.A., CRA
Administrative Director
Phone: (804) 827-1936
Email: efortune@vcu.edu

Robert E. Cadrain, R.T.(MR), CNMT
MRI Manager
Phone: (804) 828-3639
Email: recadrain@vcu.edu

Theresa Tyler
MRI technologist
Email: trtyler@vcu.edu

General Inquiries
Email: cctr-cari@vcu.edu

Community Engagement Core (CEnR) Core

Alex Krist, M.D., M.P.H.
Co-director, Community Engagement Core
Phone: (804) 628-3972
Email: ahkrist@vcu.edu

Alicia K. Aroche, M.Ed.
Research Associate, Community Engagement Core
Phone: (804) 628-3545
Email: alicia.aroche@vcuhealth.org

Education Core

Arun Sanyal, M.D.
Director, Education Core
Phone: (804) 828-4060
Email: arun.sanyal@vcuhealth.org

Patrick Nana-Sinkam, MD, FCCP
Associate Director, Education Core
Email: Patrick.Nana-Sinkam@vcuhealth.org

Teraya Donaldson, Ph.D.
Assistant director of education programs
Phone: (804) 828-6671
Email: tmdonaldson@vcu.edu

Evaluation Core

Paul Mazmanian, Ph.D.
Director, Evaluation Core
Phone: (804) 828-0492
Email: pemazman@vcu.edu

Deborah DiazGranados, Ph.D.
Program evaluator
Phone: (804) 827-0142
Email: diazgranados@vcu.edu

Mid-Atlantic Twin Registry (MATR) staff

Judy Silberg, Ph.D.
Scientific director
Phone: (804) 828-8153
Email: jsilberg@vcu.edu

Research Innovator (RI) staff

Pamela Dillon, Pharm.D.
Research liaison
Phone: (804) 827-1519
Email: pmdillon@vcu.edu

Bonnie Quearry
Grant writer
Phone: (804) 827-1527
Email: bjquearry@vcu.edu

Adam Sima, Ph.D.
Biostatistician
Phone: (804) 827-1525
Email: simaa@vcu.edu

Jacob (Jake) Wegelin, Ph.D.
Biostatistician
Email: jwegelin@vcu.edu

Robert Perera
Biostatistician
Email: robert.perera@vcuhealth.org

David Wheeler
Biostatistician
Email: dcwheeler@vcu.edu

Research Resources Core staff

Paul Fawcett, Ph.D.
Director, Research Resources Core
Phone: (804) 827-0975
Email: pfawcett@vcu.edu

Scientific Review Committee (SRC)

David X. Cifu, M.D.
Chairman, Scientific Review Committee
Email: david.cifu@vcuhealth.org

Antonio Abbate, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Chair, Scientific Review Committee
Email: antonio.abbate@vcuhealth.org

Jennifer Economy, M.S.H.A.
Administrative program manager
Phone: (804) 828-5934
Cell: (804) 514-6360
Email: jennifer.economy@vcuhealth.org